How to Erase All Your Personal Content from an iPhone or iPad


Do you have an older iPhone or iPad that you want to sell or give to someone and you want to remove all your personal data and apps? Or maybe your device has gotten clogged up after a lot of use and you just want to restore it back to its pristine factory condition. The procedure is quite straightforward and here is how it works.

  1. Open “Settings”
  2. Tap “General”
  3. Scroll to “Reset” and tap it
  4. A list of possible actions will be shown, as illustrated in the figure below
  5. To return the device to its original factory condition, tap “Erase All Content and Settings”

Resetting iOS devices

The process goes pretty quickly and then you will have a clean system with all your personal data and apps removed, including your Apple ID. Next time the device is turned on it will go through a first-time setup just as if it were new.

Do be aware that, once you have erased your data, it is gone forever.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s